
United States Bankruptcy Court 
Eastern District of Virginia 

 
Fee Schedule 

Effective December 1, 2016 
 
Filing Fees must be paid by signed check, money order, *cash or credit card; if pro se debtor, must be cash or 
money order, payable to “Clerk, U. S. Bankruptcy Court”. 
 
*Cash is not accepted at the Newport News Clerk’s Office. 
*Effective February 4, 2008, exact change only will be accepted for cash payment of fees and services at the 
Richmond Clerk’s Office. 
*Effective December 16, 2013, exact change only will be accepted for cash payment of fees and services at the 
Alexandria and Norfolk Clerk’s Offices. 
 

New Case Filings Fee 
Chapter 7 $335.00  
Chapter 7 (Involuntary) $335.00  
Chapter 9 $1,717.00 
Chapter 11 (Non-Railroad) $1,717.00 
Chapter 11 (Railroad) $1,550.00 
Chapter 11 (Involuntary) $1,717.00 
Chapter 12 $275.00 
Chapter 13 $310.00 
Chapter 15 (Foreign Ancillary) $1,717.00 
Complaints and Removals [If the United States or a debtor is the plaintiff, no fee is 
required] 

$350.00 

Appeals and Cross Appeals ($5 notice of appeal fee + $293 filing an appeal fee) $298.00 
Direct Appeals and Cross Appeals authorized by the Court of Appeals (in 
addition to Appeal/Cross Appeals fee) 

$207.00 

Motion for Relief from Stay under 11 U.S.C. 362(a) 
(No fee is required upon the filing of a motion for approval of an agreement or 
stipulation to the termination, annulment, modification, or conditioning of the automatic 
stay, which includes the filing of a motion for relief from stay accompanied by a consent 
order.) 

$181.00 

Motion for the Sale of Property Free and Clear of Liens $181.00 
Motion to Compel Abandonment under Federal Rule of Bankruptcy 
Procedure 6007(b) 

$181.00 

Motion to Withdraw Reference under 28 U.S.C. 157(d) $181.00 
 
 

Filing Fees in Installments 
Individual debtor(s) may file an Application to Pay Filing Fee in Installments – Eastern District of Virginia. 

Chapters At Filing 1 Month After 2 Months After 
Chapter 7 $100.00 $105.00 $130.00 
Chapter 11 $570.00 $572.00 $575.00 
Chapter 12 $75.00 $95.00 $105.00 
Chapter 13 $90.00 $95.00 $125.00 
Payments are due on the same day of the month as the date on which the original petition is filed.  Cash is not 
accepted at the Newport News Clerk’s Office. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 



Conversion Fees Fee 
Chapter 13 to Chapter 7 $25.00 
Chapter 11 to Chapter 7 $15.00 
Chapter 12 to Chapter 7 $60.00 
Chapter 12 to Chapter 13 No Fee 
Chapter 12 to Chapter 11 No Fee 
Chapter 7 to Chapter 11 $922.00 
Chapter 7 to Chapter 11 Railroad $755.00 
Chapter 13 to Chapter 11 $932.00 
Chapter 13 to Chapter 11 Railroad $765.00 
  
Bifurcated Case Fees Fee 
Bifurcating from Chapter 7 $335.00 
Bifurcating from Chapter 11 $1,717.00 
Bifurcating from Chapter 13 $310.00 
Bifurcating from Chapter 12 $275.00 
  
Reopening Fees Fee 
Act Cases: Chapter III, XI or XII $50.00 
Act Cases: Chapter XIII $15.00 
Chapter 7 $260.00 
Chapter 9 $1,167.00 
Chapter 11 $1,167.00 
Chapter 11 Railroad $1,000.00 
Chapter 12 $200.00 
Chapter 13 $235.00 
Chapter 15 $1,167.00 
  
Miscellaneous Fees Fee 
Photocopies - per page (Court’s fee) $.50 
Search Fee - per name or item searched $31.00 
Amendment Fee (adding/deleting creditors, changing amount of debt or 
classification) 

$31.00 

Certification Fee – for certification of any document $11.00 
Exemplification $22.00 
Record Retrieval from Federal Records Center or National Archives: 
One Box 
Per Each Additional Box 

 
$64.00 
$39.00 

Electronic Record Retrieval Fee (consists of three components): 
Judiciary Administrative Fee 
Federal Records Center Electronic Record Retrieval Fee (to pull and re-file record) 
Federal Records Center Electronic Record Retrieval Fee 

 
$10.00 

$9.90 
$.65 per page 

Any Payment Returned/Denied for Insufficient Funds $53.00 
Filing any document not in a case  $47.00 
Transfer of Claim $25.00 
Motion to Redact a Record - per affected case $25.00 

 
 
 
 
 
 

  



Electronic Public Access Miscellaneous Fees Fee 
Public users obtaining information through a federal judiciary internet 
site (maximum charge $3.00 per document) 

$.10 per page 

Printing copies of any record/document accessed electronically at a 
public terminal in the courthouse 

$.10 per page 

PACER Service Center to reproduce on paper any record pertaining 
to a PACER account, if information remotely available through 
electronic access 

$.50 per page 

Every search of court records conducted by the PACER Service 
Center 

$30.00 

Returned check paid to the PACER Service Center for lack of funds $53.00 
 
 


